Move setup_diff_pager to libgit.a
[git/jnareb-git.git] / Documentation / mailmap.txt
blob288f04e70c8ea5f0b93a4b099a4a49d1fee13b79
1 If the file `.mailmap` exists at the toplevel of the repository, or at
2 the location pointed to by the mailmap.file configuration option, it
3 is used to map author and committer names and email addresses to
4 canonical real names and email addresses.
6 In the simple form, each line in the file consists of the canonical
7 real name of an author, whitespace, and an email address used in the
8 commit (enclosed by '<' and '>') to map to the name. For example:
9 --
10         Proper Name <commit@email.xx>
13 The more complex forms are:
15         <proper@email.xx> <commit@email.xx>
17 which allows mailmap to replace only the email part of a commit, and:
19         Proper Name <proper@email.xx> <commit@email.xx>
21 which allows mailmap to replace both the name and the email of a
22 commit matching the specified commit email address, and:
24         Proper Name <proper@email.xx> Commit Name <commit@email.xx>
26 which allows mailmap to replace both the name and the email of a
27 commit matching both the specified commit name and email address.
29 Example 1: Your history contains commits by two authors, Jane
30 and Joe, whose names appear in the repository under several forms:
32 ------------
33 Joe Developer <joe@example.com>
34 Joe R. Developer <joe@example.com>
35 Jane Doe <jane@example.com>
36 Jane Doe <jane@laptop.(none)>
37 Jane D. <jane@desktop.(none)>
38 ------------
40 Now suppose that Joe wants his middle name initial used, and Jane
41 prefers her family name fully spelled out. A proper `.mailmap` file
42 would look like:
44 ------------
45 Jane Doe         <jane@desktop.(none)>
46 Joe R. Developer <joe@example.com>
47 ------------
49 Note how there is no need for an entry for <jane@laptop.(none)>, because the
50 real name of that author is already correct.
52 Example 2: Your repository contains commits from the following
53 authors:
55 ------------
56 nick1 <bugs@company.xx>
57 nick2 <bugs@company.xx>
58 nick2 <nick2@company.xx>
59 santa <me@company.xx>
60 claus <me@company.xx>
61 CTO <cto@coompany.xx>
62 ------------
64 Then you might want a `.mailmap` file that looks like:
65 ------------
66 <cto@company.xx>                       <cto@coompany.xx>
67 Some Dude <some@dude.xx>         nick1 <bugs@company.xx>
68 Other Author <other@author.xx>   nick2 <bugs@company.xx>
69 Other Author <other@author.xx>         <nick2@company.xx>
70 Santa Claus <santa.claus@northpole.xx> <me@company.xx>
71 ------------
73 Use hash '#' for comments that are either on their own line, or after
74 the email address.