process_{tree,blob}: Remove useless xstrdup calls
commit213152688c85a0e4d591abc1c10b7c279ffefb99
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 10 Apr 2009 22:20:18 +0000 (10 15:20 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 12 Apr 2009 21:30:31 +0000 (12 14:30 -0700)
tree08262e8147511acd423900e70cbf381454578c97
parentde551d472ed65fa570d9456e8498348fe4c8e7d8
process_{tree,blob}: Remove useless xstrdup calls

On Wed, 8 Apr 2009, Bj√∂rn Steinbrink wrote:
>
> The name of the processed object was duplicated for passing it to
> add_object(), but that already calls path_name, which allocates a new
> string anyway. So the memory allocated by the xstrdup calls just went
> nowhere, leaking memory.

Ack, ack.

There's another easy 5% or so for the built-in object walker: once we've
created the hash from the name, the name isn't interesting any more, and
so something trivial like this can help a bit.

Does it matter? Probably not on its own. But a few more memory saving
tricks and it might all make a difference.

Linus

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-pack-objects.c