core.hidedotfiles: hide '.git' dir by default
commite432f3eff319996e32be8cdbaad5a6b7cf2840b0
authorErik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@googlemail.com>
Wed, 16 Dec 2009 21:20:55 +0000 (16 22:20 +0100)
committerJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Wed, 1 Jun 2011 10:30:40 +0000 (1 12:30 +0200)
treed9a5b4b88fb26ca069b642f7c757cc4043e9bab6
parent1ea860106faf11529261a3fc92d87f5f6ac90608
core.hidedotfiles: hide '.git' dir by default

At least for cross-platform projects, it makes sense to hide the
files starting with a dot, as this is the behavior on Unix/MacOSX.

However, at least Eclipse has problems interpreting the hidden flag
correctly, so the default is to hide only the .git/ directory.

The config setting core.hideDotFiles therefore supports not only
'true' and 'false', but also 'dotGitOnly'.

[jes: clarified the commit message, made git init respect the setting
by marking the .git/ directory only after reading the config, and added
documentation, and rebased on top of current junio/next]

Signed-off-by: Erik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Documentation/config.txt
builtin/init-db.c
cache.h
compat/mingw.c
compat/mingw.h
config.c
environment.c
git-compat-util.h