Win32: Unicode environment (incoming)
commitc4e642f6df3d40ef6a09979966e0de09a03d7aed
authorKarsten Blees <blees@dcon.de>
Mon, 25 Apr 2011 22:32:27 +0000 (25 23:32 +0100)
committerPat Thoyts <patthoyts@users.sourceforge.net>
Mon, 1 Oct 2012 13:34:54 +0000 (1 14:34 +0100)
tree2fd0f3b3cb21807c0da732a2f2cd48df66e6aafc
parentb0a9fe2cae06f2980887fd8cdfd332812e61a5ae
Win32: Unicode environment (incoming)

Convert environment from UTF-16 to UTF-8 on startup.

No changes to getenv() are necessary, as the MSVCRT version is implemented
on top of char **environ.

However, putenv / _wputenv from MSVCRT no longer work, for two reasons:
1. they try to keep environ, _wenviron and the Win32 process environment
in sync, using the default system encoding instead of UTF-8 to convert
between charsets
2. msysgit and MSVCRT use different allocators, memory allocated in git
cannot be freed by the CRT and vice versa

Implement mingw_putenv using the env_setenv helper function from the
environment merge code.

Note that in case of memory allocation failure, putenv now dies with error
message (due to xrealloc) instead of failing with ENOMEM. As git assumes
setenv / putenv to always succeed, this prevents it from continuing with
incorrect settings.

Signed-off-by: Karsten Blees <blees@dcon.de>
compat/mingw.c
compat/mingw.h