Add a few more values for receive.denyCurrentBranch
commit3cdf0a1e4006080b4c2514d83db881ee1b288f2a
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Mon, 16 Feb 2009 20:52:51 +0000 (16 21:52 +0100)
committerJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Mon, 31 Oct 2011 16:47:53 +0000 (31 11:47 -0500)
tree31e142b76edd1303399e10c215d361d52584b8e1
parent094455626eac86389477b0d348677134dd06793a
Add a few more values for receive.denyCurrentBranch

For a long time, this developer thought that Git's insistence that
pushing into the current branch is evil was completely merited.

Just for fun, the original patch tried to show people that Git is right
there, and that it causes more trouble than it does good when Git allows
you to try to update the working tree for fast-forwards, or to detach the
HEAD, depending on some config settings.

Surprisingly, the opposite was shown.

So here is the support for two new options you can give the config
variable receive.denyCurrentBranch:

'updateInstead':
Try to merge the working tree with the new tip of the branch
(which can lead to really horrible merge conflicts).

'detachInstead':
Detach the HEAD, thereby avoiding a disagreement between the
HEAD and the index (as well as the working tree), possibly
leaving the local user wondering how on earth her HEAD became
so detached.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Documentation/config.txt
builtin/receive-pack.c
t/t5516-fetch-push.sh