builtin/grep: add grep.fallbackToNoIndex config
commitecd9ba61778e436dde12f08781a12ad1149d5ebf
authorThomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Tue, 12 Jan 2016 10:40:26 +0000 (12 11:40 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 12 Jan 2016 18:54:31 +0000 (12 10:54 -0800)
tree5d4415cd5ae4acbeabdd3bfcb1ec97494a299e77
parent1f5101aee2daa3459cf50f945da924afa78a8ced
builtin/grep: add grep.fallbackToNoIndex config

Currently when git grep is used outside of a git repository without the
--no-index option git simply dies.  For convenience, add a
grep.fallbackToNoIndex configuration variable.  If set to true, git grep
behaves like git grep --no-index if it is run outside of a git
repository.  It defaults to false, preserving the current behavior.

Helped-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Helped-by: Eric Sunshine <sunshine@sunshineco.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt
Documentation/git-grep.txt
builtin/grep.c
t/t7810-grep.sh