set_git_dir: handle feeding gitdir to itself
[git.git] / Documentation / mailmap.txt
blob4a8c276529a574355185adf3c77dede6fbd94267
1 If the file `.mailmap` exists at the toplevel of the repository, or at
2 the location pointed to by the mailmap.file or mailmap.blob
3 configuration options, it
4 is used to map author and committer names and email addresses to
5 canonical real names and email addresses.
7 In the simple form, each line in the file consists of the canonical
8 real name of an author, whitespace, and an email address used in the
9 commit (enclosed by '<' and '>') to map to the name. For example:
11         Proper Name <commit@email.xx>
14 The more complex forms are:
16         <proper@email.xx> <commit@email.xx>
18 which allows mailmap to replace only the email part of a commit, and:
20         Proper Name <proper@email.xx> <commit@email.xx>
22 which allows mailmap to replace both the name and the email of a
23 commit matching the specified commit email address, and:
25         Proper Name <proper@email.xx> Commit Name <commit@email.xx>
27 which allows mailmap to replace both the name and the email of a
28 commit matching both the specified commit name and email address.
30 Example 1: Your history contains commits by two authors, Jane
31 and Joe, whose names appear in the repository under several forms:
33 ------------
34 Joe Developer <joe@example.com>
35 Joe R. Developer <joe@example.com>
36 Jane Doe <jane@example.com>
37 Jane Doe <jane@laptop.(none)>
38 Jane D. <jane@desktop.(none)>
39 ------------
41 Now suppose that Joe wants his middle name initial used, and Jane
42 prefers her family name fully spelled out. A proper `.mailmap` file
43 would look like:
45 ------------
46 Jane Doe         <jane@desktop.(none)>
47 Joe R. Developer <joe@example.com>
48 ------------
50 Note how there is no need for an entry for `<jane@laptop.(none)>`, because the
51 real name of that author is already correct.
53 Example 2: Your repository contains commits from the following
54 authors:
56 ------------
57 nick1 <bugs@company.xx>
58 nick2 <bugs@company.xx>
59 nick2 <nick2@company.xx>
60 santa <me@company.xx>
61 claus <me@company.xx>
62 CTO <cto@coompany.xx>
63 ------------
65 Then you might want a `.mailmap` file that looks like:
66 ------------
67 <cto@company.xx>                       <cto@coompany.xx>
68 Some Dude <some@dude.xx>         nick1 <bugs@company.xx>
69 Other Author <other@author.xx>   nick2 <bugs@company.xx>
70 Other Author <other@author.xx>         <nick2@company.xx>
71 Santa Claus <santa.claus@northpole.xx> <me@company.xx>
72 ------------
74 Use hash '#' for comments that are either on their own line, or after
75 the email address.