Do not switch workspace to follow new windows in others
authorMartin Dietze <di@fh-wedel.de>
Mon, 24 Aug 2009 19:40:47 +0000 (21:40 +0200)
committerCarlos R. Mafra <crmafra@gmail.com>
Mon, 24 Aug 2009 22:47:37 +0000 (00:47 +0200)
commitd6c134f420bfa1cd6b6a9474d01548933b559901
treee6b179e1cf96e2f11b95a6feb4f2b21ae7fd7294
parent442e3876c6e5a78c6ed385ec204647553f45c168
Do not switch workspace to follow new windows in others

New windows should only be focused if they are in the current workspace.
Not performing this check can lead to WM switching workspaces if a
window is opened which:

   (a) is configured to appear in a particular workspace

and

   (b) sends a _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW message to give focus to
       something, e.g. a sub window.

This behaviour was observed with firefox if a session with more
than one tab open was restored at startup because:

 "If a Client wants to activate another window, it MUST send a
   _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW client message to the root window:"

Original-post: http://lists.windowmaker.info/dev/msg00442.html

[crmafra: Added comment]
src/wmspec.c