Make wmaker XRandR aware
authorCarlos R. Mafra <crmafra@gmail.com>
Sun, 22 Aug 2010 17:05:07 +0000 (19:05 +0200)
committerCarlos R. Mafra <crmafra@gmail.com>
Sun, 22 Aug 2010 20:13:45 +0000 (22:13 +0200)
commitc201e1612c1798106ccc2f806669a90b0bbb7a19
tree70feaad4ab3230509a149f1a465afadf37a7a60a
parentf6b7178542f02e63037f664e26c5d21cf6e8779f
Make wmaker XRandR aware

This patch makes wmaker automatically Restart() to take into account
resolution changes done by xrandr.

The motivation to write this patch is that when I start my laptop connected
to an external monitor (VGA1), the resolution in the monitor is initially
wrong (perhaps this is a bug in XOrg or OpenSuse, but anyway), so I always
do this after starting wmaker:

xrandr --output VGA1 --preferred

The resolution in the external monitor gets fixed, but wmaker does not
recognize the change automatically and I have to manually restart it.

So this patch avoids the last step by making wmaker be XRandR-aware.
Wmaker now restarts automatically when it receives a RRChangeScreenNotify
event and I don't have to do the last part of the silly procedure described
above.

I am not sure if restarting wmaker is the most elegant solution, but
it at least solves part of my issue with wmaker + xrandr.
configure.ac
src/event.c
src/main.c
src/screen.c
src/startup.c