Improved variable length array support.
authorJames Lyon <jamesly0n@hotmail.com>
Sat, 27 Apr 2013 19:39:34 +0000 (20:39 +0100)
committerJames Lyon <jamesly0n@hotmail.com>
Sat, 27 Apr 2013 21:58:52 +0000 (22:58 +0100)
commit41b3c7a50727f715111d09af982e2e9a0deeb688
tree0192d5295fd3cfca625ba769be2188ef72b15d64
parent6ee366e765483f6b48537d97fc81ae56f13d1b7f
Improved variable length array support.

VLA storage is now freed when it goes out of scope. This makes it
possible to use a VLA inside a loop without consuming an unlimited
amount of memory.

Combining VLAs with alloca() should work as in GCC - when a VLA is
freed, memory allocated by alloca() after the VLA was created is also
freed. There are some exceptions to this rule when using goto: if a VLA
is in scope at the goto, jumping to a label will reset the stack pointer
to where it was immediately after the last VLA was created prior to the
label, or to what it was before the first VLA was created if the label
is outside the scope of any VLA. This means that in some cases combining
alloca() and VLAs will free alloca() memory where GCC would not.
12 files changed:
CMakeLists.txt
arm-gen.c
c67-gen.c
config.h.in
configure
i386-gen.c
tcc.h
tccgen.c
tests/CMakeLists.txt
tests/Makefile
tests/vla_test.c [new file with mode: 0644]
x86_64-gen.c