ReleaseNotes: mention the problem with -L/regex/ being misinterpreted
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Mon, 15 Jul 2013 19:09:29 +0000 (15 14:09 -0500)
committerJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Thu, 12 Sep 2013 18:34:15 +0000 (12 13:34 -0500)
Suggested by Pat Thoyts.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
share/WinGit/ReleaseNotes.rtf

index bc090cf..3c8e93e 100644 (file)
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@ See {\cf0{\field{\*\fldinst{HYPERLINK http://git-scm.com/ }}{\fldrslt{http://git
 {\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}The Quick Launch icon will only be installed for the user running setup (typically the Administrator). This is a technical restriction and will not change.\par\r
 {\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}curl uses $HOME/_netrc instead of $HOME/.netrc.\par\r
 {\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}If you want to specify a different location for --upload-pack, you have to start the absolute path with two slashes. Otherwise MSys will mangle the path.\par\r
+{\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}Likewise, if you want to pass the \i -L/regex/\i0  option to \i git log\i0 , MSys will misinterpret it as an absolute path and mangle it into a DOS-style one. You can prevent that by putting a semicolon into the regular expression, e.g. \i git log -L/\\;*needle/\i0 .\par\r
 {\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}If configured to use Plink, you will have to connect with putty first and accept the host key.\par\r
 {\pntext\f2\'B7\tab}As merge tools are executed using the MSys bash, options starting with "/" need to be handled specially: MSys would interpret that as a POSIX path, so you need to double the slash (Issue 226).  Example: instead of "/base", say "//base".  Also, extra care has to be paid to pass Windows programs Windows paths, as they have no clue about MSys style POSIX paths -- You can use something like $(cmd //c echo "$POSIXPATH").\par\r
 \r