doc: don't claim that cherry calls patch-id
authorMichael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Tue, 24 Sep 2013 22:33:36 +0000 (25 01:33 +0300)
committerJonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Sep 2013 22:54:48 +0000 (24 15:54 -0700)
The id is already different for binary files.  The hash used is an
implementation detail, so let's just document how diffs are compared.

Signed-off-by: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Documentation/git-cherry.txt

index f6c19c7..2d0daae 100644 (file)
@@ -14,8 +14,7 @@ DESCRIPTION
 -----------
 The changeset (or "diff") of each commit between the fork-point and <head>
 is compared against each commit between the fork-point and <upstream>.
-The commits are compared with their 'patch id', obtained from
-the 'git patch-id' program.
+The diffs are compared after removing any whitespace and line numbers.
 
 Every commit that doesn't exist in the <upstream> branch
 has its id (sha1) reported, prefixed by a symbol.  The ones that have