CodingGuidelines: mention whitespace preferences for shell scripts
authorGiuseppe Bilotta <giuseppe.bilotta@gmail.com>
Fri, 3 Dec 2010 16:47:35 +0000 (3 17:47 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 3 Dec 2010 23:22:59 +0000 (3 15:22 -0800)
Signed-off-by: Giuseppe Bilotta <giuseppe.bilotta@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/CodingGuidelines

index 09ffc46..46f8a3f 100644 (file)
@@ -31,6 +31,10 @@ But if you must have a list of rules, here they are.
 
 For shell scripts specifically (not exhaustive):
 
+ - We use tabs for indentation.
+
+ - Case arms are indented at the same depth as case and esac lines.
+
  - We prefer $( ... ) for command substitution; unlike ``, it
    properly nests.  It should have been the way Bourne spelled
    it from day one, but unfortunately isn't.