commit.c: Remove backward goto in read_craft_line()
authorRalf Thielow <ralf.thielow@googlemail.com>
Wed, 1 Dec 2010 19:15:59 +0000 (1 20:15 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 1 Dec 2010 21:16:39 +0000 (1 13:16 -0800)
Bad graft data is noticed in several places in read_graft_line(), and in
each case we go back to the first site of detection.  It in general is a
better style to have an exception handling out of line from the main
codepath and make error codepath jump forward.

Signed-off-by: Ralf Thielow <ralf.thielow@googlemail.com>
Reviewed-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
commit.c

index 0094ec1..2d9265d 100644 (file)
--- a/commit.c
+++ b/commit.c
@@ -137,12 +137,8 @@ struct commit_graft *read_graft_line(char *buf, int len)
                buf[--len] = '\0';
        if (buf[0] == '#' || buf[0] == '\0')
                return NULL;
-       if ((len + 1) % 41) {
-       bad_graft_data:
-               error("bad graft data: %s", buf);
-               free(graft);
-               return NULL;
-       }
+       if ((len + 1) % 41)
+               goto bad_graft_data;
        i = (len + 1) / 41 - 1;
        graft = xmalloc(sizeof(*graft) + 20 * i);
        graft->nr_parent = i;
@@ -155,6 +151,11 @@ struct commit_graft *read_graft_line(char *buf, int len)
                        goto bad_graft_data;
        }
        return graft;
+
+bad_graft_data:
+       error("bad graft data: %s", buf);
+       free(graft);
+       return NULL;
 }
 
 static int read_graft_file(const char *graft_file)