Documentation: Fix mark-up of lines with more than one tilde
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 2 Dec 2010 19:23:50 +0000 (2 11:23 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 2 Dec 2010 19:30:35 +0000 (2 11:30 -0800)
The manual pages of cherry-pick and revert had examples with two revisions
on the same line in the examples section, that looked like this:

    git cherry-pick master~4 master~2::

Unfortunately, this is taken as a mark-up to make the part between two
tildes, "4 master", subscript.  Use {tilde} to make it explicit that we
do want ~ characters in these places (backslash does not help).

Reported-by: Sylvain Rabot <sylvain.rabot@f-secure.com>
Helped-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-cherry-pick.txt
Documentation/git-revert.txt

index 3c96fa8..7300870 100644 (file)
@@ -92,7 +92,7 @@ git cherry-pick ^HEAD master::
        Apply the changes introduced by all commits that are ancestors
        of master but not of HEAD to produce new commits.
 
-git cherry-pick master\~4 master~2::
+git cherry-pick master{tilde}4 master{tilde}2::
 
        Apply the changes introduced by the fifth and third last
        commits pointed to by master and create 2 new commits with
index f40984d..752fc88 100644 (file)
@@ -87,7 +87,7 @@ git revert HEAD~3::
        Revert the changes specified by the fourth last commit in HEAD
        and create a new commit with the reverted changes.
 
-git revert -n master\~5..master~2::
+git revert -n master{tilde}5..master{tilde}2::
 
        Revert the changes done by commits from the fifth last commit
        in master (included) to the third last commit in master