Ship sample hooks with .sample suffix
authorJunio C Hamano <>
Wed, 25 Jun 2008 01:45:21 +0000 (24 18:45 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <>
Wed, 25 Jun 2008 02:06:22 +0000 (24 19:06 -0700)
Ship sample hooks with .sample suffix

We used to mark hooks we ship as samples by making them unexecutable, but
some filesystems cannot tell what is executable and what is not.

This makes it much more explicit.  The hooks are suffixed with .sample
(but now are made executable), so enabling it is still one step operation
(instead of "chmod +x $hook", you would do "mv $hook.sample $hook") but
now they won't get accidentally enabled on systems without executable bit.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <>
12 files changed:
templates/hooks--applypatch-msg.sample [moved from templates/hooks--applypatch-msg with 86% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--commit-msg.sample [moved from templates/hooks--commit-msg with 93% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--post-commit.sample [moved from templates/hooks--post-commit with 63% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--post-receive [deleted file]
templates/hooks--post-receive.sample [new file with mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--post-update.sample [moved from templates/hooks--post-update with 63% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--pre-applypatch.sample [moved from templates/hooks--pre-applypatch with 84% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--pre-commit.sample [moved from templates/hooks--pre-commit with 96% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--pre-rebase.sample [moved from templates/hooks--pre-rebase with 100% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--prepare-commit-msg.sample [moved from templates/hooks--prepare-commit-msg with 94% similarity, mode: 0755]
templates/hooks--update.sample [moved from templates/hooks--update with 97% similarity, mode: 0755]