git-prompt: Document GIT_PS1_DESCRIBE_STYLE
authorAnders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU>
Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:20:24 +0000 (11 18:20 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:36:13 +0000 (11 15:36 -0800)
GIT_PS1_DESCRIBE_STYLE was introduced in v1.6.3.2~35.  Document it in the
header comments.

Signed-off-by: Anders Kaseorg <andersk@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
contrib/completion/git-prompt.sh

index bf20491..5ab488c 100644 (file)
 # find one, or @{upstream} otherwise.  Once you have set
 # GIT_PS1_SHOWUPSTREAM, you can override it on a per-repository basis by
 # setting the bash.showUpstream config variable.
+#
+# If you would like to see more information about the identity of
+# commits checked out as a detached HEAD, set GIT_PS1_DESCRIBE_STYLE
+# to one of these values:
+#
+#     contains      relative to newer annotated tag (v1.6.3.2~35)
+#     branch        relative to newer tag or branch (master~4)
+#     describe      relative to older annotated tag (v1.6.3.1-13-gdd42c2f)
+#     default       exactly matching tag
 
 # __gitdir accepts 0 or 1 arguments (i.e., location)
 # returns location of .git repo