gitstats: Add a general note about the 'stats.py'
authorSverre Rabbelier <sverre@rabbelier.nl>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 16:52:08 +0000 (26 18:52 +0200)
committerSverre Rabbelier <sverre@rabbelier.nl>
Mon, 28 Jul 2008 13:51:17 +0000 (28 15:51 +0200)
This briefly lists how the stats.py command works, and what
is required to run it.

doc/stats.txt [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/doc/stats.txt b/doc/stats.txt
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..675226a
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,36 @@
+syntax: stats.py <subcommand> <arguments>
+
+Available commands:
+  author  Activity for one author, file, or project
+  branch  In how far a commit belongs to a branch
+  bug     Determine whether a commitis a bugfix
+  commit  Basic functionality already present in git
+  diff    Compare two diffs and find reverts
+  index   Find which commits touched the staged files
+  matcher Try to match hunks in a diff to find moves
+  test    Run the unittests for GitStats
+
+The stats.py module is the main entry point of GitStats,
+it dispatches to the commands listed above. When no
+arguments are passed, it automatically runs the command
+with '--help' so that a usage message is shown for that
+command.
+
+Each of the modules it uses as subcommands defines a
+'dispatch' function that is called with the users arguments
+(with the exception of the first, which is the name of the
+command executed). If anything should be returned to the
+system, the dispatch method should return this value.
+
+To run properly it requires the git_stats package to be
+a subdirectory of the directory it resides in. That is,
+your directory tree should be something like this:
+.
+|-- git_stats
+|   `-- <listing of all installed modules>
+|-- scripts
+|   `-- <listing of all installed scripts>
+|-- t
+|   `-- <listing of all installed regression tests>
+`-- stats.py
+